Drop-in Discussion: "A Sudden Light" by Garth Stein

Friday, February 10, 2017 -
2:00pm to 3:00pm

Come and share your thoughts! Drop by the library for an informal discussion of our One Book, One Community title for 2017, "A Sudden Light" by Garth Stein. Library staff will be on hand to help facilitate the conversation. 

Artist Trading Cards

Saturday, February 18, 2017 -
2:00pm to 4:00pm

Make miniature mixed media masterpieces suitable for trading, giving, or keeping!

Artist Trading Cards

Wednesday, December 14, 2016 -
1:00pm to 2:30pm

Make miniature mixed media masterpieces suitable for trading, giving, or keeping!

Artist Trading Cards

Thursday, January 26, 2017 -
3:00pm to 4:30pm

Make miniature mixed media masterpieces suitable for trading, giving, or keeping!

Library U presents Great Decisions at the Library

Repeats every week every Saturday until Sun Mar 05 2017.
Saturday, January 7, 2017 -
9:30am to 11:00am
Saturday, January 14, 2017 -
9:30am to 11:00am
Saturday, January 21, 2017 -
9:30am to 11:00am
Saturday, January 28, 2017 -
9:30am to 11:00am
Saturday, February 4, 2017 -
9:30am to 11:00am
Saturday, February 11, 2017 -
9:30am to 11:00am
Saturday, February 18, 2017 -
9:30am to 11:00am
Saturday, February 25, 2017 -
9:30am to 11:00am
Saturday, March 4, 2017 -
9:30am to 11:00am

Great Decisions at the Library is an multi-part discussion series on today's most compelling foreign policy issues. A 30-minute film is followed by a discussion moderated by an expert on the topic. The series takes place on Saturday mornings from 9:30 to 11:00 a.m. at Bethany Lutheran Church. Refreshments provided!

The 2017 topics are:

January 7 – Film: “America’s Diplomats” 

January 14 – U.S. Foreign Policy and Petroleum 

January 21 – Conflict in the South China Sea 

January 28 – Latin America’s Political Pendulum 

Lit Out Loud

Repeats every month on the second Wednesday 6 times.
Wednesday, December 14, 2016 -
1:00pm to 2:00pm
Wednesday, January 11, 2017 -
1:00pm to 2:00pm
Wednesday, February 8, 2017 -
1:00pm to 2:00pm
Wednesday, March 8, 2017 -
1:00pm to 2:00pm
Wednesday, April 12, 2017 -
1:00pm to 2:00pm
Wednesday, May 10, 2017 -
1:00pm to 2:00pm

Add some literature to your day by listening to stories, non-fiction selections, or poetry read aloud. Perfect for bringing a quiet snack to enjoy or your knitting or other handcraft project so you can listen while you work. 

[Canceled] Island Theatre at the Library

Canceled

Repeats every day until Sun Oct 16 2016.
Saturday, October 15, 2016 -
7:30pm to 9:30pm
Sunday, October 16, 2016 -
7:30pm to 9:30pm

Canceled due to inclement weather. 

Sober New Years Eve Party & Bad Fashion Show!

Saturday, December 31, 2016 - 9:00pm to Sunday, January 1, 2017 - 12:30am

Enjoy New Years Eve 2017 with us! Bring bizarre threads and accessories for a spectacularly odd fashion show. Mix and match (or un-match) from our amusing wardrobe, walk the runway and win prizes! Play Cards Against Humanity, shoot hoops on pop-a-shot and enjoy other games. Share your favorite music using our YouTube community DJ system. Make and keep a Perler bead masterpiece. Test the Ouija board and peer into 2017 in the prophecies room. Count down the last seconds of 2016 and celebrate the new year together!   

Health Insurance Assistance: WA Healthplanfinder

Repeats every week every Wednesday until Wed Jan 25 2017.
Wednesday, January 4, 2017 -
3:00pm to 5:00pm
Wednesday, January 11, 2017 -
3:00pm to 5:00pm
Wednesday, January 18, 2017 -
3:00pm to 5:00pm
Wednesday, January 25, 2017 -
3:00pm to 5:00pm

Certified Navigators from Peninsula Community Health Services (PCHS) will be available to answer your questions about the health care exchange, identify eligibility for reduced premiums and walk you through the enrollment process.

Drop-in. No appointment necessary.

Book Group: "A Sudden Light" by Garth Stein

Saturday, February 4, 2017 -
12:00pm to 1:00pm

Copies are available at your library.

"A Sudden Light" by Garth Stein

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Adult