Clone of Teen Writers Workshop

Repeats every month on January, February, March, April, May, December on the second Thursday until Thu May 10 2018.
Thursday, December 14, 2017 -
4:00pm to 5:30pm
Thursday, January 11, 2018 -
4:00pm to 5:30pm
Thursday, February 8, 2018 -
4:00pm to 5:30pm
Thursday, March 8, 2018 -
4:00pm to 5:30pm
Thursday, April 12, 2018 -
4:00pm to 5:30pm
Thursday, May 10, 2018 -
4:00pm to 5:30pm

Join this supportive, informal group and take your writing to the next level. Learn how to bring characters to life, create engaging dialogue, or build an exciting world. Get a 1:1 consultation with the group leaders and hear about strategies for when you’re stuck. Bring pieces you're currently working on to get feedback from a peer group if you wish, or start something new. Author and writing teacher Margaret Nevinski and author Rebecca Lacko will share their expertise.

Town Hall

Repeats every month on October, November on the first Tuesday until Tue Nov 06 2018.
Tuesday, September 4, 2018 -
4:30pm to 5:30pm
Tuesday, October 2, 2018 -
4:30pm to 5:30pm
Tuesday, November 6, 2018 -
4:30pm to 5:30pm

Engage in conversations with teens and community leaders on topics you care about. Ask questions, share your thoughts and get informed. Topics are determined by participants one month in advance and could cover topics like health and safety at home, identity, gender or race. 

Cosplay Design Lab

Saturday, October 6, 2018 -
10:00am to 5:00pm

Create a costume fit for your favorite fandom. Move through the design process from referencing and patterning to construction.

Lock In: International Games Week

Friday, November 9, 2018 -
6:30pm to 10:00pm

Celebrate International Games Week with games of all types, check out teen-created games, make new friends and enjoy pizza and snacks.

Lock In: Escape the Library

Friday, September 14, 2018 -
6:30pm to 10:00pm

Use wit, logic, and strategy to escape through locked doors, mazes and traps to your reward of pizza and snacks. Planned by the Sylvan Way Teen Advisory Board.

Teen-trepreneur

Saturday, October 20, 2018 -
10:00am to 5:00pm

Be your own boss. This 2-day workshop will provide you with the tools to develop a plan for your own business. 

TCG Club

Repeats every week until Tue Nov 27 2018.
Tuesday, September 4, 2018 -
5:30pm to 7:30pm
Tuesday, September 11, 2018 -
5:30pm to 7:30pm
Tuesday, September 18, 2018 -
5:30pm to 7:30pm
Tuesday, September 25, 2018 -
5:30pm to 7:30pm
Tuesday, October 2, 2018 -
5:30pm to 7:30pm
Tuesday, October 9, 2018 -
5:30pm to 7:30pm
Tuesday, October 16, 2018 -
5:30pm to 7:30pm
Tuesday, October 23, 2018 -
5:30pm to 7:30pm
Tuesday, October 30, 2018 -
5:30pm to 7:30pm
Tuesday, November 6, 2018 -
5:30pm to 7:30pm
Tuesday, November 13, 2018 -
5:30pm to 7:30pm
Tuesday, November 20, 2018 -
5:30pm to 7:30pm
Tuesday, November 27, 2018 -
5:30pm to 7:30pm

Play trading card games like Magic: The Gathering, while making friends in this completely teen-run game club. All experiences levels welcome. 

Make Do Share: Teen Night

Repeats every week every Wednesday until Wed Nov 28 2018 except Wed Nov 21 2018.
Wednesday, September 12, 2018 -
5:30pm to 7:30pm
Wednesday, September 19, 2018 -
5:30pm to 7:30pm
Wednesday, September 26, 2018 -
5:30pm to 7:30pm
Wednesday, October 3, 2018 -
5:30pm to 7:30pm
Wednesday, October 10, 2018 -
5:30pm to 7:30pm
Wednesday, October 17, 2018 -
5:30pm to 7:30pm
Wednesday, October 24, 2018 -
5:30pm to 7:30pm
Wednesday, October 31, 2018 -
5:30pm to 7:30pm
Wednesday, November 7, 2018 -
5:30pm to 7:30pm
Wednesday, November 14, 2018 -
5:30pm to 7:30pm
Wednesday, November 28, 2018 -
5:30pm to 7:30pm

Make new friends, do amazing projects and share collaborative creations. If you can dream it, then we'll make it do and share it. 

Teen Advisory Board

Repeats every month on October, November on the first Wednesday 3 times.
Wednesday, September 5, 2018 -
5:30pm to 7:30pm
Wednesday, October 3, 2018 -
5:30pm to 7:30pm
Wednesday, November 7, 2018 -
5:30pm to 7:30pm

Help shape the library. Discuss programs, plan special events and earn volunteer credit for school.

 

Teen Advisory Board

Repeats every month on October, November on the first Tuesday 3 times.
Tuesday, September 4, 2018 -
6:00pm to 7:30pm
Tuesday, October 2, 2018 -
6:00pm to 7:30pm
Tuesday, November 6, 2018 -
6:00pm to 7:30pm

Join TAB, a leadership group for teens to help shape the Library. Express your interests, develop leadership skills, help plan and implement special events and earn volunteer credit for school. Plus, there will be snacks.

Snacks generously provided by the Friends of the Port Orchard Library.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Teen