What is the 2020 Census?
The 2020 Census counts every person living in the 50 states, District of Columbia, and five U.S. territories.

Who is required to respond?
Everyone living in the 50 states, District of Columbia, and five U.S. territories (Puerto Rico, American Samoa, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Guam and the U.S. Virgin Islands) are required by law to be counted in the 2020 Census.

How can I participate?
You can participate in one of three ways: online, by phone, or by mail from March 12- August 31. To participate in the census, visit Responding to the Census webpage or call 844-330-2020.  

What are Key Dates for the Census?

  • Non-response follow up starts July 30.

What to expect if you haven't responded yet?
Census workers, who are hired from the local community, will visit non-responding households and interview residents to collect census information. All census workers speak English and many are bilingual.

Census workers will wear face masks and follow CDC and local health guidelines while going door-to-door. All workers will complete a virtual COVID-19 training program before beginning their work.

If no one is home during the visit, the census worker will leave a notice on the door with information about how to respond online, by phone or by mail.

How to identify workers.
Census workers will have a valid government ID with their photograph, a U.S. Department of Commerce watermark and an expiration date on the badge. They will also have a census bag and an iPad or mobile phone with them.

Get more facts at census.gov

Please feel free to contact us via email