Enl!ghten is back!! Join their virtual sessions using the Zoom App!

Enl!ghten Kitsap Community Forum is dedicated to enhancing knowledge and understanding through presentation, sharing, and discussion.  Connect with fellow lifelong learners and hear from experts who share their knowledge on a variety of engaging topics.  Events are held on the third Friday, 6:30 to 8:30 p.m., every month except December.

Visit the EnlightenKitsap.org webpage for more information and get inspired.

Join by video by clicking on the link below or dial in by phone.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Connection options:

Zoom link:  This portion of the webpage will be updated on the date of event.  

Dial in toll free: 888 788 0099. You will be prompted to enter the meeting ID __ , followed by #. 

 

Montly topics, dates and presenters:

 

For updated event details, please visit www.EnlightenKitsap.org

January 15, 2021: Clarence Moriwaki. Let It Not Happen Again: Lessons of the Japanese American Exclusion.  Clarence will talk about the 120,000 Japanese-Americans incarcerated during World War II. He will share the story of Bainbridge Island, the origin point of the Japanese American exclusion and provide a human, historical account of this national tragedy and to ask the question: Are there parallels to what is happening in America now?

 

February 19, 2021. Through the Lens: Doug Soule, BA, MBA, Captain USNR(r) and professional diver, will guide us through a pictorial journey of remote SE Asia and Philippines portraying the amazing life as well as the impending demise of the oceans and underwater inhabitants.

 

March 19, 2021 – Jane Cornman, RN, PhD, will present on the latest NEAR and ACEs research and findings. NEAR Science is a cluster of fields of study that include Neuroscience, Epigenetics, ACEs and Resilience. ACEs is an acronym for Adverse Childhood Experiences that harm children’s developing brains. 

 

When: 
Repeats every month on January, February, March, April, May, June, July, August, September, October, November on the third Friday until Sat Nov 20 2021. Also includes Fri Dec 11 2020.
Friday, September 18, 2020 - 6:30pm to 8:30pm
Friday, October 16, 2020 - 6:30pm to 8:30pm
Friday, November 20, 2020 - 6:30pm to 8:30pm
Friday, December 11, 2020 - 6:30pm to 8:30pm
Friday, January 15, 2021 - 6:30pm to 8:30pm
Friday, February 19, 2021 - 6:30pm to 8:30pm
Friday, March 19, 2021 - 6:30pm to 8:30pm
Friday, April 16, 2021 - 6:30pm to 8:30pm
Friday, May 21, 2021 - 6:30pm to 8:30pm
Friday, June 18, 2021 - 6:30pm to 8:30pm
Friday, July 16, 2021 - 6:30pm to 8:30pm
Friday, August 20, 2021 - 6:30pm to 8:30pm
Friday, September 17, 2021 - 6:30pm to 8:30pm
Friday, October 15, 2021 - 6:30pm to 8:30pm
Friday, November 19, 2021 - 6:30pm to 8:30pm
Registration: 
Not required
Event Type: 
Age Ranges: