The Sylvan Way Library Book Group have gone virtual! Below you will find information regarding the dates, book titles and options to join the virtual book discussion using our Zoom App!

Join by video by clicking on the link below or dial in by phone.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Connection options:

If you are a first time participant, please register here.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dates, times and book discussion schedule:

Books available through KRL’s Overdrive (krl.overdrive.com) or Libby App​ (iPhone, Android or Kindle)
 
 
 

I. Saturday, February  13th from 10am - 11am– The Art of Falling by Kathryn Craft

 

Description:  All Penny has ever wanted to do is dance--and when that chance is taken from her, it pushes her to the brink of despair, from which she might never return. When she wakes up after a traumatic fall, bruised and battered but miraculously alive, Penny must confront the memories that have haunted her for years, using her love of movement to pick up the pieces of her shattered life.

 

Downloadable Only. Contact Elisabeth at edemmon@krl.org if you have any questions

 

II. Saturday, March 13th - “The Count of Monte Cristo” by Alexandre Dumas

 

Description: This classic Alexandre Dumas’ novel of justice, retribution, and self-discovery is one of the most enduringly popular adventure tales ever written.  This novel tells the story of Edmond Dantes, wrongfully imprisoned for life in the supposedly impregnable sea fortress the Chateau d'If.

This book can be downloaded after February 25th from this link: https://krl.overdrive.com/ 

 

 

III. Saturday, April 10th - “The Fifteen Wonders of Daniel Green” by Erica Boyce.

 

Daniel travels through America's countryside, creating astonishing crop circles that leave communities mystified. But when a dying Vermont corn farmer hires Daniel in an effort to breathe new life into the town he loves, Daniel is drawn into a community struggling to stitch itself back together. For once he is forced to stand still, and face the past he's been running from all this years. For fans of Phaedra Patrick and Fredrick Backman, this astonishing debut explores the healing power of forgiveness, the quirky definition of family, and the realization that home is not the walls you build but the people you choose to build them with

 

This book can be downloaded after March 25th from this link: https://krl.overdrive.com/  or you can place a hold on this item from the KRL catalog.

 

IV. Saturday, May 8th at 10am - Radium Girls:  The Dark Story of America’s Shining Women by Kate Moore

 

Description: As World War I raged across the globe, hundreds of young women toiled away at the radium-dial factories, where they painted clock faces with a mysterious new substance called radium. Assured by their bosses that the luminous material was safe, the women themselves shone brightly in the dark, covered from head to toe with the glowing dust. With such a coveted job, these "shining girls" were considered the luckiest alive -- until they began to fall mysteriously ill. As the fatal poison of the radium took hold, they found themselves embroiled in one of America's biggest scandals and a groundbreaking battle for workers' rights.

 

 

 


.

When: 
Repeats every month on the second Saturday until Sat Dec 11 2021.
Saturday, June 13, 2020 - 10:00am to 11:00am
Saturday, July 11, 2020 - 10:00am to 11:00am
Saturday, August 8, 2020 - 10:00am to 11:00am
Saturday, September 12, 2020 - 10:00am to 11:00am
Saturday, October 10, 2020 - 10:00am to 11:00am
Saturday, November 14, 2020 - 10:00am to 11:00am
Saturday, December 12, 2020 - 10:00am to 11:00am
Saturday, January 9, 2021 - 10:00am to 11:00am
Saturday, February 13, 2021 - 10:00am to 11:00am
Saturday, March 13, 2021 - 10:00am to 11:00am
Saturday, April 10, 2021 - 10:00am to 11:00am
Saturday, May 8, 2021 - 10:00am to 11:00am
Saturday, June 12, 2021 - 10:00am to 11:00am
Saturday, July 10, 2021 - 10:00am to 11:00am
Saturday, August 14, 2021 - 10:00am to 11:00am
Saturday, September 11, 2021 - 10:00am to 11:00am
Saturday, October 9, 2021 - 10:00am to 11:00am
Saturday, November 13, 2021 - 10:00am to 11:00am
Saturday, December 11, 2021 - 10:00am to 11:00am
Event Type: 
Age Ranges: