Come and join us for our book group discussion! If you are a first time participant, please register here.

 

Upcoming Book Discussions:

 

Tuesday, August 16, 2022 from 10-11am: “They Called Us Enemy” by George Takei

Description:  The graphic novel memoir of George Takei's childhood when he was imprisoned in an American concentration camp for people of Japanese descent during World War II.

A copy of the book can be obtained at the Sylvan Way Branch Service Desk after July 19th. For other formats, please check the library catalog.

This meeting will be in person in the Sylvan Way Branch Heninger Room.  If you prefer to attend via Zoom, please email the facilitator, Elisabeth Demmon at edemmon@krl.org, for the Zoom Link. 

 

Tuesday, September 20, 2022 from 10-11am: “Braiding Sweetgrass: Indigenous Wisdom, Scientific Knowledge and the Teachings of Plants” by Robin Wall Kimmerer.

Description:  " As a botanist and professor of plant ecology, Robin Wall Kimmerer has spent a career learning how to ask questions of nature using the tools of science. As a Potawatomi woman, she learned from elders, family, and history that the Potawatomi, as well as a majority of other cultures indigenous to this land, consider plants and animals to be our oldest teachers.”

A copy of the book can be obtained at the Sylvan Way Branch Service Desk after August 16th . For other formats, please check the library catalog.

This meeting will be in person in the Sylvan Way Branch Heninger Room.  If you prefer to attend via Zoom, please email the facilitator, Elisabeth Demmon at edemmon@krl.org, for the Zoom Link.

Event Type: 
Program Type: 
Virtual & In-person

For virtual events, please join our community Zoom room and connect through desktop, phone or mobile. To dial in toll-free, call 888-788-0099 and you'll be prompted to enter the meeting ID, followed by #. For more information on how to connect over Zoom, visit KRL.org/zoomfaq.

When: 
Repeats every month on the third Tuesday until Tue Dec 20 2022.
Tuesday, December 21, 2021 - 10:00am to 11:00am
Tuesday, January 18, 2022 - 10:00am to 11:00am
Tuesday, February 15, 2022 - 10:00am to 11:00am
Tuesday, March 15, 2022 - 10:00am to 11:00am
Tuesday, April 19, 2022 - 10:00am to 11:00am
Tuesday, May 17, 2022 - 10:00am to 11:00am
Tuesday, June 21, 2022 - 10:00am to 11:00am
Tuesday, July 19, 2022 - 10:00am to 11:00am
Tuesday, August 16, 2022 - 10:00am to 11:00am
Tuesday, September 20, 2022 - 10:00am to 11:00am
Tuesday, October 18, 2022 - 10:00am to 11:00am
Tuesday, November 15, 2022 - 10:00am to 11:00am
Tuesday, December 20, 2022 - 10:00am to 11:00am
Intended Audience: