Adventures in Bug Eating

Friday, July 13, 2018 -
4:15pm to 5:15pm

Are insects the food of the future? The United Nations seems to think so. Find out why at this thought-provoking talk. There will be free bug snacks for all. Space is limited; registration required.

Reptile Man

Thursday, August 16, 2018 -
2:00pm to 3:00pm

Zoologist and educator Scott Petersen presents live reptiles to teach the importance of animals in nature.

Mikey Mike The Rad Scientist

Wednesday, July 25, 2018 -
11:00am to 12:00pm

Listen to the music of Mikey Mike - The Rad Scientist! This science - based performance will have children out of their seats and dancing as they learn about the natural world around them. Performance will take place at the Port of Bremerton Marina Park at Port Orchard.

STEM Thursday

Repeats every week every Thursday 8 times.
Thursday, June 28, 2018 -
4:30pm to 5:30pm
Thursday, July 5, 2018 -
4:30pm to 5:30pm
Thursday, July 12, 2018 -
4:30pm to 5:30pm
Thursday, July 19, 2018 -
4:30pm to 5:30pm
Thursday, July 26, 2018 -
4:30pm to 5:30pm
Thursday, August 2, 2018 -
4:30pm to 5:30pm
Thursday, August 9, 2018 -
4:30pm to 5:30pm
Thursday, August 16, 2018 -
4:30pm to 5:30pm

Learn about Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math (STEM) through games, competitions, engineering challenges, one-day-builds, learning tools, guest presenters, and collaborative efforts. Challenge yourself to build 21st Century skills, like: teamwork, creativity, intellectual openness, communication, and problem solving.

 

Port Orchard Youth Talent Show

Wednesday, August 1, 2018 -
11:00am to 1:00pm

Watch as youth ages 0-18 showcase their unique talents at the Annual Port Orchard Youth Talent Show! Lunch for those 18 and under will be provided by South Kitsap School District following the show. 

Youth who want to participate in the show must audition on July 12 OR July 19, see this link for details. Performance will take place at the Port of Bremerton Marina Park at Port Orchard.

Youth Talent Show Auditions

Repeats every week every Thursday 2 times.
Thursday, July 12, 2018 -
4:00pm to 6:00pm
Thursday, July 19, 2018 -
4:00pm to 6:00pm

Audition for the Annual Port Orchard Youth Talent Show that will take place on August 1st at the Port Orchard Waterfront Park. Youth under the age of 18 are encouraged to participate either individually or as a group. Possible talents may include: magic, dance, vocal performance, instrumental performance, athletic feats, juggling, skits, comedy routines, or anything else that you think others might want to see.

Family Dance Party

Wednesday, August 15, 2018 -
11:00am to 12:00pm

Dance, dance, dance the morning away with thumping kids music, and lots of different props to encourage a variety of movements. Lunch for those 18 and under will be provided by South Kitsap School District following the dancing. Dancing will take place at the Port of Bremerton Marina Park at Port Orchard.

Free Lunch & Legos

Repeats every day every Monday and every Tuesday and every Wednesday and every Thursday and every Friday 10 times.
Monday, August 20, 2018 -
11:30am to 12:30pm
Tuesday, August 21, 2018 -
11:30am to 12:30pm
Wednesday, August 22, 2018 -
11:30am to 12:30pm
Thursday, August 23, 2018 -
11:30am to 12:30pm
Friday, August 24, 2018 -
11:30am to 12:30pm
Monday, August 27, 2018 -
11:30am to 12:30pm
Tuesday, August 28, 2018 -
11:30am to 12:30pm
Wednesday, August 29, 2018 -
11:30am to 12:30pm
Thursday, August 30, 2018 -
11:30am to 12:30pm
Friday, August 31, 2018 -
11:30am to 12:30pm

Kids and teens (ages 0-18) enjoy a free bag lunch sponsored by South Kitsap Helpline and The Homemade Cafe. Afterwards join Kitsap Regional Library staff for Lego play in the library - we provide the Lego's, you bring your creativity! Groups of five children or more please contact the library at least two days prior to attending. 

Summer STEM: Let’s Go Fly a Kite!

Tuesday, August 14, 2018 -
1:00pm to 2:00pm

How do kites fly? Build one to experiment with aerodynamics in this hands-on activity at Kiwanis Park in Bremerton--1701 5th Street.

 

Summer STEM: Magnetic Slime

Tuesday, July 31, 2018 -
1:00pm to 2:00pm

What's the difference between magnetic slime and regular slime? Make some and find out! Wear something that can get messy.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Kids