Bookmobile will be at the fair - Service in Central Kitsap Canceled

Canceled

Thursday, August 25, 2016 -
10:00am to 6:00pm

Regular Bookmobile route service canceled. 

Receive book lists or library schedules, sign up for a library card, browse the collection, have your library questions answered on 'Violet' at the Kitsap County Fair.

Science Mystery with Doug Olson

Wednesday, August 17, 2016 -
2:00pm to 3:30pm

Who did it? Solve a mystery using forensics.  With legendary local science teacher Doug Olson, you know it will be a fun time. For kids entering grades 4-7.  Tickets available at the downstairs children's desk one hour prior to program to guarantee admission.

Paper Sculpture

Wednesday, August 10, 2016 -
1:00pm to 4:00pm

Try your hand at creating small paper sculptures that recreate everyday objects inspired by the books by artist Cybèle Young, specifically "Some Things I've Lost." If you enjoy incredibly detailed work using impossibly small bits of paper and glue, this is for you. For youth in grades 5 - 8. Tickets available at the downstairs children's desk one hour prior to program to guarantee admission.

Scratch Programming

Canceled

Thursday, August 11, 2016 -
2:00pm to 4:00pm

Get started with Scratch and learn the basics of programming your own stories, games and animations. Create projects you can share with other youth around the world. Space is limited, spots available on a first come first serve basis or bring your own laptop with a recent browser and Adobe Flash Player installed. 

DIY: Sew a wallet

Thursday, August 4, 2016 -
2:00pm to 3:30pm

Join Lindsey Ramirez of Sew Crafty for an afternoon of stitching and make an owl wallet or purse to take home. All materials provided and no experience needed. For youth entering 3- 6th grades. Space is limited.  Tickets available at the downstairs children's desk one hour prior to program to guarantee admission.

Dr. Dave's Reptile Safari

Thursday, August 18, 2016 -
2:00pm to 3:00pm

Take a walk on the wild side with Dr. Dave and experience an up-close encounter of the creepy-crawly kind. Come meet a variety of exotic and fascinating reptiles from around the world. Lots of family fun and hands-on activities. Recommended for kids entering grades K-6.  Space is limited. Tickets available at the downstairs children's desk one hour prior to program to guarantee admission.

Bookmobile will be at the Kitsap County Fair - Service in Olalla Canceled

Canceled

Wednesday, August 24, 2016 -
10:00am to 6:00pm

Regular Bookmobile route service canceled. 

Receive book lists or library schedules, sign up for a library card, browse the collection, and visit 'Violet' at the Kitsap County Fair.

Read to a Dog [Canceled]

Saturday, February 20, 2016 -
1:30pm to 3:00pm

This program has been canceled this Saturday. We apologize for the inconvenience.

Come practice your reading skills by reading to our friendly canines! Non-judgmental listening reading support is provided by Pet Partners therapy dog teams. No pre-registration required. Just drop in,  pre-readers welcome!

Project Maker: Game Design

Repeats every week every Wednesday until Wed Mar 01 2017.
Wednesday, February 8, 2017 -
6:00pm to 7:30pm
Wednesday, February 15, 2017 -
6:00pm to 7:30pm
Wednesday, February 22, 2017 -
6:00pm to 7:30pm
Wednesday, March 1, 2017 -
6:00pm to 7:30pm

Project Maker: Explore a variety of STEM topics and technologies through hands-on projects that encourage creativity, problem-solving, and collaboration. 

In Project Maker: Game Design, kids will have a chance to design, create, and test their own video games using Scratch or Kodu. Previous gaming experience is not required, but this program is best suited for students in 3rd grade and up. Pizza will be served.

R.E.A.D. to a Dog

Repeats every week every Thursday until Thu Nov 17 2016 except Thu Sep 01 2016, Thu Sep 08 2016, Thu Sep 15 2016, Thu Sep 22 2016.
Thursday, March 3, 2016 - 3:30pm
Thursday, March 10, 2016 - 3:30pm
Thursday, March 17, 2016 - 3:30pm
Thursday, March 24, 2016 - 3:30pm
Thursday, March 31, 2016 - 3:30pm
Thursday, April 7, 2016 - 3:30pm
Thursday, April 14, 2016 - 3:30pm
Thursday, April 21, 2016 - 3:30pm
Thursday, April 28, 2016 - 3:30pm
Thursday, May 5, 2016 - 3:30pm
Thursday, May 12, 2016 - 3:30pm
Thursday, May 19, 2016 - 3:30pm
Thursday, May 26, 2016 - 3:30pm
Thursday, June 2, 2016 - 3:30pm
Thursday, June 9, 2016 - 3:30pm
Thursday, June 16, 2016 - 3:30pm
Thursday, June 23, 2016 - 3:30pm
Thursday, June 30, 2016 - 3:30pm
Thursday, July 7, 2016 - 3:30pm
Thursday, July 14, 2016 - 3:30pm
Thursday, July 21, 2016 - 3:30pm
Thursday, July 28, 2016 - 3:30pm
Thursday, August 4, 2016 - 3:30pm
Thursday, August 11, 2016 - 3:30pm
Thursday, August 18, 2016 - 3:30pm
Thursday, August 25, 2016 - 3:30pm
Thursday, September 29, 2016 - 3:30pm
Thursday, October 6, 2016 - 3:30pm
Thursday, October 13, 2016 - 3:30pm
Thursday, October 20, 2016 - 3:30pm
Thursday, October 27, 2016 - 3:30pm
Thursday, November 3, 2016 - 3:30pm
Thursday, November 10, 2016 - 3:30pm
Thursday, November 17, 2016 - 3:30pm

Practice your reading skills with a registered Reading Education Assistance Dog. Have fun while gaining confidence reading.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Kids