Tweens Create: Group Design Challenge

Repeats every day 4 times.
Monday, August 14, 2017 -
2:00pm to 4:00pm
Tuesday, August 15, 2017 -
2:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, August 16, 2017 -
2:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, August 17, 2017 -
2:00pm to 4:00pm

Work together to create an original work of art to be displayed in the Library. Collaborate on design, make a plan and build your creation.

This program generously funded by the Port Orchard Friends of the Library.

Tween Maker Week

Repeats every day 4 times.
Monday, July 17, 2017 -
2:00pm to 4:00pm
Tuesday, July 18, 2017 -
2:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, July 19, 2017 -
2:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, July 20, 2017 -
2:00pm to 4:00pm

Do you love making things? Tinkering? Creating something new? Join us for four days of maker mayhem. Sew a stuffed creature, work with wood, create with code...the possibilities are endless. Learn something new at the Library and take home a cool creation. 

This program generously funded by the Port Orchard Friends of the Library.

Blast from the Past Summer Lock-In

Friday, June 23, 2017 -
7:00pm to 10:00pm

Can you dig it? Play retro tabletop games like the 1970s classic Dungeons & Dragons, indulge in some nostalgic Saturday morning cartoon classics with a side of breakfast cereal and relax! School's out for the summer and the Library is ready to celebrate. Wear your finest flash back attire--bell bottoms and backwards overalls strongly encouraged-- and join us for a totally rad evening of games, cartoons, snacks and more. 

Funding for this program generously provided by the Port Orchard Friends of the Library. 

Teen Advisory Board

Repeats every month on June, August on the first Monday 2 times. Also includes Mon Jul 10 2017.
Monday, June 5, 2017 -
6:00pm to 7:30pm
Monday, July 10, 2017 -
6:00pm to 7:30pm
Monday, August 7, 2017 -
6:00pm to 7:30pm

Join TAB, a leadership group for teens to help shape the Library. Express your interests, develop leadership skills, help plan and implement special events and earn volunteer credit for school. Plus, there will be snacks.

Snacks generously provided by the Friends of the Port Orchard Library.

Tween Maker Lab

Repeats every week every Thursday 3 times.
Thursday, June 1, 2017 -
4:30pm to 5:30pm
Thursday, June 8, 2017 -
4:30pm to 5:30pm
Thursday, June 15, 2017 -
4:30pm to 5:30pm

Love to make things? Excited about technology? Just want to tinker? Stop by the Library and try it out. Explore different tools, complete design challenges and come up with new ideas. All experience levels welcome.

Teen RPG Club

Repeats every week every Monday 13 times.
Monday, June 5, 2017 -
4:00pm to 6:00pm
Monday, June 12, 2017 -
4:00pm to 6:00pm
Monday, June 19, 2017 -
4:00pm to 6:00pm
Monday, June 26, 2017 -
4:00pm to 6:00pm
Monday, July 3, 2017 -
4:00pm to 6:00pm
Monday, July 10, 2017 -
4:00pm to 6:00pm
Monday, July 17, 2017 -
4:00pm to 6:00pm
Monday, July 24, 2017 -
4:00pm to 6:00pm
Monday, July 31, 2017 -
4:00pm to 6:00pm
Monday, August 7, 2017 -
4:00pm to 6:00pm
Monday, August 14, 2017 -
4:00pm to 6:00pm
Monday, August 21, 2017 -
4:00pm to 6:00pm
Monday, August 28, 2017 -
4:00pm to 6:00pm

Join us to play role-playing games like Dungeons & Dragons or bring your cards for Magic: The Gathering. All gamers are welcome, from the novice to the experienced.

Learn: Japanese

Wednesday, July 5, 2017 -
3:00pm to 4:00pm

Learn how to write your name in Japanese from a native speaker, as well as a little about the Japanese language.

Be: Teen Egg Drop Engineer

Wednesday, July 26, 2017 -
10:30am to 11:30am

Become an engineer to prevent an egg from breaking when it's dropped. All materials provided.

Be: Teen S'mores Scientist

Wednesday, August 2, 2017 -
3:00pm to 4:00pm

Become a scientist using solar power to make s'mores. All materials provided. Weather permitting. 

Be: Teen Ice Cream Chemist

Wednesday, August 9, 2017 -
2:00pm to 3:00pm

A chilly chemistry challenge making individual servings of ice cream in a bag. All materials provided.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Teen