Tough Topics: We're here, we're queer!

Canceled

Thursday, July 27, 2017 -
6:00pm to 7:30pm

As a part of our Tough Topics discussion series, join us and president of the board of directors at the Q Youth Resources, Maggie Rich as they lead us in a discussion of issues facing queer youth in Kitsap County, locating resources and what we can do to help. Bring your questions and be ready for discussion.

Snacks generously provided by the Port Orchard Friends of the Library.

Teen Writing Camp

Repeats every day 4 times.
Monday, July 24, 2017 -
1:00pm to 3:00pm
Tuesday, July 25, 2017 -
1:00pm to 3:00pm
Wednesday, July 26, 2017 -
1:00pm to 3:00pm
Thursday, July 27, 2017 -
1:00pm to 3:00pm

Master the literary arts at this thrilling and creative summer camp at the Port Orchard location. Work with professional writer Cathy Warner to hone your literary skills over the course of a four-day camp! Write using literary prompts or continue to develop your own original writing. Learn from one-on-one consultations with the writing teacher and share your work in the writer's circle. Share your writing at our end of summer Summer Learning Showcase

Teen Lock-In: Summer Showdown

Friday, August 4, 2017 -
7:00pm to 10:30pm

Join us at the library for an exciting evening of meeting and chatting with awesome authors on Skype, playing a collaborative game of Zombie tag with other teens around the county, and having tons of fun! Snacks provided.

Tough Topics: Depression & Anxiety in Teens

Thursday, June 22, 2017 -
6:00pm to 7:30pm

As a part of our Tough Topics discussion series, join us and therapist Sarah Fisher from Kitsap Mental Health Services to talk about depression and anxiety in teens, identifying the signs and finding best practices to stay healthy. Bring your questions and be ready for discussion. Snacks generously provided by the Port Orchard Friends of the Library.

Science: Get a Grip!

Saturday, June 10, 2017 -
1:00pm to 4:00pm

Come get a grip on STEM careers with our guest panelists. Get hands-on with these special guest speakers and see what is happening in the amazing world of science professions. Explore career options and ask questions about the technicalities of working in a STEM field with the experts and learn something new about working in science, technology, engineering and math. 

Field Trip to MoPOP Museum & Pike Place Market

Thursday, July 6, 2017 (All day)

Enjoy a fun summer field trip led by library staff! Travel to bustling, metropolitan Seattle Center for a visit to the MoPOP museum. Check out the Jim Henson exhibition: Imagination Unlimited on a self-guided tour. Afterwards, enjoy a shopping excursion to Seattle’s famous Pike Place market. Registration required*

*Registration process is not complete until signed permission slip forms are returned to the library

Game Design Club

Repeats every week every Tuesday until Tue Aug 22 2017.
Tuesday, June 20, 2017 -
3:00pm to 5:00pm
Tuesday, June 27, 2017 -
3:00pm to 5:00pm
Tuesday, July 4, 2017 -
3:00pm to 5:00pm
Tuesday, July 11, 2017 -
3:00pm to 5:00pm
Tuesday, July 18, 2017 -
3:00pm to 5:00pm
Tuesday, July 25, 2017 -
3:00pm to 5:00pm
Tuesday, August 1, 2017 -
3:00pm to 5:00pm
Tuesday, August 8, 2017 -
3:00pm to 5:00pm
Tuesday, August 15, 2017 -
3:00pm to 5:00pm
Tuesday, August 22, 2017 -
3:00pm to 5:00pm

Join the team and collaboratively create a video game. Learn how to use industry standards like Unity and Blender while creating an original game.

Game Design Showcase

Saturday, August 26, 2017 -
2:00pm to 4:00pm

See what the video game team created this summer over their 10 week program. Enjoy a presentation by the designers and test the game!

Game Jam Lock-In

Friday, June 23, 2017 -
7:00pm to 10:00pm

Kickstart our Video Game Design club with a special night to explore software, equipment, and techniques. Get together in a team and design a game in just a few hours and then pitch your idea to the Game Shark Tank!

Teen Video Game Jam

Repeats every day until Fri Aug 11 2017.
Wednesday, August 9, 2017 -
1:00pm to 5:00pm
Thursday, August 10, 2017 -
1:00pm to 5:00pm
Friday, August 11, 2017 -
1:00pm to 5:00pm

Put your game face on for this incredible three-day video game jam at the Poulsbo location. Learn the basics of video game design, touching on disciplines from world design to user interface to game feel. Use green screen technology and the Scratch user interface to design your own video game starring yourself. Snacks provided.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Teen